Uncovering the good me

Posted on Updated on

I’ve always thought I was a good person: gentle, sweet and most of all, caring. Not only for the people I love, but for everybody. I then found out it’s not so easy to be all that, especially with people you have do deal with in the office, when having a bad day or when in a difficult moment.
Sometimes it’s easier not to see people having a hard time or simply think “I can’t / I have no time now” and so forth. What I’ve recently realized, it’s that it also takes a big amount of bravery, to stand up for strangers.

We all want to think we are heroes: we would drag people out of a smashed car, help a suffering animal or a bullied teen, when the case. But are we, for real?
A couple of days ago I was driving home with a couple of friends of mine after a night out. We were stopped by and old lady, shocked and emotional, who said had been assaulted by her own husband. We wanted to help so called the police and waited with her. We then found out the poor old lady suffered from Alzheimer and was just confused. Obviously it would have been heartless and totally wrong if we had left, but I can relate, it was not easy to listen to this lady talking nonsense, telling she had been beaten and how scared she was. I was and still am totally convinced we did the right thing and I’m happy we stopped the car and listened to her. Probably she only needed someone who cared enough to stop and take her home.
All I can say is that it takes a bit of courage and self-confidence to do the right thing, even when we are mentally prepared to do so. I hope, from now on, to be 100% ready to help people or animals in need. I’m sure this process will help me as much as all the people (I hope) I am going to help. 🙂
This morning I’ve read that when you’re happy and positive in the inside, no matter what, your outside is going to be affected too. Lately my friends have told me I’m shining, still the same yet different and I can confirm, I’m definitely feeling better. Let’s go on, then!

Is baking a way to help people I love? Aid them from bad days and lend a hand? You bet! I firmly believe in confort food and though I try to stay as healthier as possible, I can’t give up desserts (chocolate ones in particular)!.
Last week I tried a couple of recipes I found on Pinterest… this chocolate cake and this banana bread. The first one was good but actually not as much as expected, the second one really hit the spot on a cold, rainy August Monday.
Here the Pictures

#Banana and #Cinnamon cupcakes

#Banana and #Cinnamon cupcakes

#Banana and #Cinnamon cupcakes

Leave a Reply

