Going Southward

Image Posted on Updated on

I love my mixed roots. Though I’m 100% Italian, my origins are scattered around the peninsula.
My father is from Calabria, the very tip of the boot (as Italy is commonly called), my mother is Venetian, with a Venetian mother and a Sicilian father.
This mix is lethal. I can tell you. Calabrian people are known for being stubborn. Verrrry much. And I proudly am, just like my father. From my motherly side I inherited pride for being Venetian, stubborness (again!), passion and impetuosity for everything I care about and a (unfortunately) bossy attitude.
I love to go to Calabria fo my summer holidays; my grandparents’ house is in a quiet and breath-taking area, where tourism hasn’t quite arrived yet. Nature is still kind of wild, sun shines for months in an amazing shade of blue sky and the beach is empty.
Good food, sun, clear water and no crowd? That’s my idea of relaxing and regenerating holiday.

My dad’s hometown is a medieval collection of small houses on a hill 15 minutes far from the Jonio shores. It’s the smallest town of the whole region with a population of 260 units. I love how life there almost stopped in many things ages ago: when driving home after a day spent at the beach, everyday we meet the shepherd driving the flock back home. Cows are everywhere on the hills and every family owns a plot of land.
For any info, this is the Wikipedia page about it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Staiti

Here my pictures, I’ll post more in the future. Enjoy!

Staiti by night
1 003

and by day
1 026

warm clear water!
1 036

The Tridetti Fountain
1 039

1 040

1 052

1 103

1 108

1 124

The view from our terrace
1 148

An unusually crowded main square for the village fair
1 166

How I love animals!
1 191

1 205Last shot at dawn before coming home
1 258

11 thoughts on “Going Southward

    maraneso said:
    November 6, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    What a cool little town. I’ll have to make a note to check it out next time I am there.

      arytee responded:
      November 6, 2013 at 6:10 pm

      Thanks for stopping by. I’ve taken a look at your blog, so interesting! keep up with the good job! πŸ™‚

    maraneso said:
    November 8, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    Reblogged this on In Bruttium.

    maraneso said:
    November 8, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    Reblogged this!

    lilmisspoutine said:
    November 8, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    amazing photos. thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    sueslaght said:
    November 9, 2013 at 1:07 am

    I want to get on a plane and see this fabulous little spot! I love the animals too πŸ™‚ Great post!

    Anne said:
    November 9, 2013 at 9:18 pm

    Sounds like the perfect Italian town πŸ™‚

    arytee responded:
    November 11, 2013 at 9:52 am

    Thank you everybody πŸ™‚ it’s a lovely place, though in a quite difficoult area. But definitely worthy a visit!

    SooSooSees said:
    November 24, 2013 at 7:15 am

    This should be on your “About” page! It gives a lovely picture of your heritage.

    Going Southward, again – Staiti | arytee said:
    August 29, 2014 at 9:50 am

    […] last year I wrote about my holidays in South of Italy and lot of people told me about they loved the picture and how amazing that area […]

    Calabria, wilderness and beaches | arytee said:
    September 25, 2014 at 10:15 am

    […] year I published a post a lot of people liked and commented. Totally unexpected. I mean, I love South of Italy and in […]

Leave a Reply

