Pumpkin time

Posted on

There’s no Starbucks in Italy. Not that we miss it, I’m quite satisfied with our coffee qualities and drinks and, generally speaking, Italian people do not trust big American brands.
Are we snobbish and kind of afraid of changes? Sure we are.

So I was saying, no Starbucks or Costa Coffee or anything.
Thus, when abroad,I love to indulge in a tall cup of sugary, spiced drinks. To me it’s part of the travelling experience.
Last year, during my American wanderings, I tried the Pumpkin Spice Latte. Oh. My. God. (Friends‘ Janice style πŸ˜‰ ). It was ultragood! The cinnamon and nutmeg, pumpkin and cream. I saw loads of people ordering the biggest cup of that and honestly, can you blame them?
I can’t.

This year I had a few cups of it: in Paris, in Dublin and in Berlin.
But when home, since it’s all about pumpkin this time of year, why not baking something similar? I know, it’s not the same, but I find it satisfying in any case.
My dad has a small kitchen garden in the back of their yard, this means I have biological, seasonal, tasty and free vegetables whenever I want. Fresh, beautiful pumpkins as well. Yeah! πŸ™‚

I’m addicted to the pumpkin soup: just boil it until you can smash it, then mix it with a pinch of salt, pepper and nutmeg (I add chili dust as well). It’s part of my idea of couchy, relaxing, pyjama-y and happy winter nights.

Last Friday I had a friend coming over for dinner. He had already expressed a few times how much he loved my pumpkin and cinnamon cake, but then pointed he wanted to try a lemony and creamy dessert as well. He knows me and was sure I would bake them both. Indeed.
I had no time to take pictures of the two desserts, but on Saturday I made cake pops out of the cake that remained. If you haven’t already, try. They are so easy and everybody loves them.

I started baking this cake: http://www.thenovicechefblog.com/2012/10/pumpkin-dream-cake/
I actually baked just a big layer and then cut it to get a few mini-cakes that I frosted.
I blended the rest of the layer adding cinnamon, peanut butter and cream cheese. Scooped the mixture and made the balls, then cooled and coated with chocolate.
This the result, verrry appreciated by the guys on Saturday night! (I tried to improve the pictures changing lights and shadows with a software.. please don’t say anything, I know.)

DSCN9903DSCN9904

Leave a Reply

