Kindness acts – 1

Posted on Updated on

A few months ago I wrote a post about the Random Acts of Kindness I wanted to put into practice.
I thought a lot about the whole idea of doing something for strangers for free or, generally speaking, being nice and helpful with people with nothing in return.
A few years ago I offered to pack books in a well-known bookshop for charity. The money we raised helped an Italian association to send poor kids of South-America, Asia and Africa to school in order get an education and so have access to better jobs.
This made me feel very good deep inside and it was actually a funny experience.
I love books so much! Spending hours in a bookshop or library has always been quality time with and for myself. The fact I could actually help someone just staying there packing was perfect for me.
So I repeated the experience every year since that and I haven’t regretted it once. Doing something for others in a totally non-interested way really warms my heart and makes me feel like I’m making up for all the wrong things I have done in my life.
So, this is the list of things I have done so far:
– packing books for charity
– giving blood and plasma (obviously for free; in any case in Italy it is not possible to get money for that).
– sponsoring a kid from Kenya through AMREF (an association that helps not only the kid and the family but the whole community as well).
– baking cookies not only for my friends and family for Christmas, but also for my colleagues and people I daily deal with, with a friendship message. It may not seem much, but sometimes showing support or love can change the way someone sees themselves or at least make them feel good for a while.

The list is not complete at all. I will try to do better and update it asap!
Have a nice day guys! 🙂

This is Tommaso, my cousins’ dog. Ain’t he lovely? I saw this picture before writing the post and decided I had to show the world this beauty 😉
Tommaso

Leave a Reply

