Up North

Posted on

2014 started very well. Another flag on my map, another country I have visited.
This time it was Sweden and its beautiful Stockholm.
Once again A., one of my favourite partners in crime, and me. Once again, bored and in need to be on the loose 😉
It took us less than an hour: we met, decided Sweden it was definitely worthy a visit, convinced ourselves we deserved a break abroad, bought both the flights and the hotel.
I can only remember I sweated a lot that morning, two days before Christmas. Wasn’t that the best present I could buy myself ever? You bet it was.

So we left on January, 2nd. New Year has just started and we had already packed our bags and caught a plane. Thumbs up.

Though I had dreamed a trip to Sweden since I was 18, I had never had the chance to visit this amazing country so far. When choosing which languages I wanted to pick at University, Swedish was on top. Unfortunately, there wasn’t any Scandinavian department in Venice, I should have moved to Milan, so I changed and picked German instead. Still today I am not sure it was the right choice.

Anyway, finally I dived into a culture so close (just a 2 and a half hour flight) but so different from mine. Everything was clean and well administrated. We had the feeling everything runs the way it should, up there. Probably because I come from a country where almost nothing goes right and couldn’t wait to breath some fresh air (well, literally!).
Nice people, great food, plenty of museums and monuments… we had such a really grand time!
These my pictures: many are out of focus, it was kind of hard to take pictures with such a dim light. A pity, so I guess I’ll have to come back during the Springtime 😉

Stortorget, Gamla Stan (Old City)DSCN0029

Stockholms stadshus (City Hall) View from Gamla StanDSCN0058 Riddarfjärden – main channel DSCN0088DSCN0105 View from KatarinahissenDSCN0244 DSCN0248 DSCN0249 DSCN0251 DSCN0255

Riddarholmskyrkan (The Riddarholmen Church) – view from the City Hall

DSCN0310Riddarholmskyrkan (The Riddarholmen Church)
DSCN0332Lovely animals I couldn’t wait to see – Skansen

DSCN0142 DSCN0149 DSCN0159 DSCN0169 DSCN0186

Leave a Reply

