Nothing bad could come from a beer

Posted on

The Monday baking frenzy goes on. And honestly, why should it stop? Don’t we all need something sweet to make us go through the day? I know I shouldn’t be eating my feelings but hey, let’s not go judgemental. I hate waking up thinking there are still 5 full days till the weekend and there’s nothing wrong in finding a way to cope with this hard, sad reality.

So, here some beautiful and delicious Guinness Cupcakes.
Guinness CupcakesRich in taste and with a perfect consistency. A bit humid but not muddy, soft but not spongy…

Guinness Cupcakes I used the Double Chocolate Crinkle cookies to decorate and add something more to the frosting.Guinness Cupcakes Guinness Cupcakes They were small, I like them this way. The smaller, the better to me. So you taste both the cake and the frosting at any bite. Guinness Cupcakes Guinness Cupcakes Guinness Cupcakes Guinness Cupcakes Guinness Cupcakes I had already tried a recipe with Guinness. The outcome was good, but I know it could have been better. The idea of mixing some beer to the cupcake basic ingredients was genius, I could feel it, I only needed to find the exact balance between liquid and dry ingredients, bitter and sweet. If you have ever drank a Guinness, you know what I’m talking about. It’s dense and heavy. Bitter and really fills your mouth. In Ireland sometimes they drink it with Ribena, a sweet Blackcurrant juice to contrast its bitter taste.

Guinness Cupcakes Guinness Cupcakes So I gave a chance to this recipe, obviously found on Pinterest, wherelse? 😉

Jackie put some fresh strawberries and a white chocolate frosting on it. I had no strawberries and, honestly, to me the perfect cupcake is 100% chocolate. So I simply didn’t add any fruit and mix some butter, cream cheese and cocoa for the frosting.

Guinness CupcakesBeer, mmm..
Guinness Cupcakes

My family loved them and I feel this is going to be a copycat!Guinness Cupcakes

 

2 thoughts on “Nothing bad could come from a beer

    Charisma said:
    February 17, 2014 at 12:27 pm

    Mmm great idea and the cupcakes look delicious, love the topped crinkle cookies!

      arytee responded:
      February 17, 2014 at 12:30 pm

      Thank you Charisma! I love how Pinterest has tons of ideas and recipes for evrrrything!

Leave a Reply

