Coconut and Nutella cupcakes

Posted on Updated on

Another day with friends, another chance to bake something new. The idea thrills me every time.
WP_20140323_00620140324090556 - CopiaSince I fear another cold and rainy spring is on the way, I still feel the urge to switch on the oven every other day.
This time of year, I always feel I need my vitamin D, after months of fog, rain, cold, wind.
I love to observe how Nature changes in Spring, while I wait for the summer sun to finally come out and kill us as usual. Oh my God I can’t wait.

But, March is being bitchy as usual. And a cold Sunday calls for comfort, soft and sweet food. To me, cupcakes.
I was invited to this Sunday lunch and, obviously, offered to bring the dessert.
I am chocolate addicted, but not everybody is. But could anyone turn down Nutella? I don’t think so.
That’s how I came out with these Coconut and Nutella cupcakes.
The recipe is pretty basic, I though we would eat a lot of many homamde delicious dishes (as it regularly happens when together), so we would need a not-too-sweet dessert.

Coconut and Nutella cupcakes

Ingredients (yeld: 15 cupcakes)
for the cupcakes
200 gr white flour
100 gr coconut flakes
6 gr salt
2 tsp baking powder
70 gr sugar
1/2 cup Nutella
100 gr yogurt
30 gr milk (I use rice one, I love its sweet flavour)
3 eggs
3 tbsp olive oil

For the frosting:
150 gr cream cheese
50 gr butter
1/2 cup Nutella
1/4 cup icing sugar
Coconut flakes (to decorate)

Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl.
In a small one dilute yogurt with milk. Stir the dairies into the dry ingredients. Add the olive oil and the eggs (one at the time). Once the batter is homogeneous, prepare the cupcakes wrappers.
Fill the wrappers just a half. Add a drop of Nutella in the middle and the cover with more batter.
Cook for 20 – 22 minutes at 180°. Check with a toothpick if the cupcakes are ready.

For the frosting:
Cream the butter and cream cheese. Add the Nutella (I ran out of it, thus I used some spicy dark chocolate I was given for Christmas), then the sugar.

Frost the cupcakes, decorate with some coconut flakes.

That’s the outside (I always leave a couple of them without frosting)

WP_20140323_01220140324090218 - Copia

 

I took a nice picture of the inside… a pity I’m an idiot and deleted it. Thank God one of the girl had saved one for breakfast and still have it in store. I asked her to take a picture and send it to me. Here it is, thanks to wonderful M.
Surprise! Nutella on the inside too 🙂

coconut and nutella cupcakeEnjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “Coconut and Nutella cupcakes

    cloudthyme said:
    March 30, 2014 at 3:32 pm

    Oh my goodness, what a delicious combination! Yummy 🙂

    arytee responded:
    March 31, 2014 at 7:16 am

    Thank you 🙂 Must confess the taste was very good!

Leave a Reply

