34 but still fine

Posted on Updated on

So yeah, I turned 34 recently. No big deal. No shock, no wrinkles (so far), no anxiety.
As usual, I spent a few days abroad, just to make that day a special one.
Berlin has proved itself the place to be, once again. There’s something magical in those streets constantly swept by chilly winds, leaves swirling on the walkside, history pouring over every proud building staring ahead, uncaring of those tiny dots moving frantic all around.
It can be overwhelming, packed with tragic events as it is, but little by little I have found it can be warm and welcoming too. It just asks for some time and a chance to show its potential. Once left behind the most touristic destinations like Alexander Platz, Brandeburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie and the Wall, take your time to walk aimlessly along its avenues and live the city as a Berliner, instead of a tourist craving for a few pictures to show once home.
You won’t be disappointed.

Once back in Venice, I got ready for the birthday party. I know, I’m old enough to have a toast with my besties and move to more important stuff, but I love to see all my friends in my place so much. I find it an amzing way to make home warmer, building sweet and funny memories with people I care about the most.

This year I decided to go simple. No fancy cakes or endless preparation.
Just a few tasty, original things.
So this is what we had
Cinnamon Swirls (try them still hot… they’re addictive!)
cinnamon swirlscinnamon swirls2

Thumbprint almond cookies with homemade homegrown figs jam, Nutella and homemade cinnamon & apple jam
cinnamon swirls3

Gluten- free Chocolate Cake (moist, extra decadent, adorable) and peanut butter cookies my friends loved (even though I wasn’t particularly satisfied with)
chocolate cake

chocolate cake2

And a carrot cake I forgot to take a picture of, my bad. This, by the way.

Missing recipes in a couple of days!

Leave a Reply

