Give us bread, but give us roses

Posted on

A couple of nights ago, though half asleep and quite frozen, I accepted  my friends’ invitation and headed to a cinema near home. I didn’t even know what movie we would watch, but since I have noticed I tend to a nostalgic and self-indulgent mood when I stay at home too much, I decided to give the cinema a chance.
I wasn’t disappointed at all. The girls chose Pride, an English movie set during the miners’ strike in the 80s in Uk.
It was masterly interpreted and made us cry a bit in the end.
I love the English cinema and I already knew some of the actors: an amazing Andrew Scott (by the way: I can’t wait until 2016 for the fourth season of Sherlock! I’m talking to you, BBC!), Imelda Staunton and Bill Nighy (both seen in the Harry Potter movies, among many others). We all loved it; it was funny but not stupid, told a real story but it was never boring.

Last but not least, people’s rights. During the strike some guys and girls in the gay community decided to support men striving to be heard, fought by the police and people in the streets, facing a challenging situation everyday, just like them.
I believe in equal rights for everybody. Not just because some of my friends are gay; deep inside I believe no one can tell another person who they should love and how and when. As long as we are respecting each other and not hurting anybody, we are free. When people say that God wouldn’t approve, well I don’t think so. If it’s true what they say, that God is Love no matter what, well he would love everybody for sure, even bigots and homophobics (but that’s not a good reason to be one!). Knowing that we all have the same rights apart from everything, would make it easier for me to breathe.

In the movie, during one of the miners’ meeting a woman starts singing “Bread and Roses”. I got a bit emotional must confess. I reckon we should all learn an important message from this: “Hearts starve as well as bodies; give us bread, but give us roses!”

Together with some things I am reconsidering these days, this is one of the strongest and truest messages I have received so far; everyday reality is basic but who I am inside has to be satisfied, one way or another.
Understanding what I really want and how to accept my goals (still a bit concealed from my own eyes) is one of my new year’s resolutions, let’s call it the first and most important.
Find a way to get it, the second. As I was once said when still attending University: a wish has to turn into a desire, stronger and resolute by definition, to realize.
Balancing reality with my own inner reality, so strong though confused and bursting with colours, needs and thought all at the same time, the third and probably most difficoult.

As usual, let this consciousness be the firts step.

Leave a Reply

