Molasses Cookies

Posted on Updated on

Where could I start from?
Given that
– my sweet tooth is highly demanding
– I love cookies. Eating, baking, thinking about them. Everything delicious that comes in more than one unit is welcome.
– Sally (of the amazing Sally’s Baking Addiction) has tons of gooey recipes I can’t resist to (and honestly don’t even want to). When I bought one of her books, I knew I was doomed.
– Last fall I tried to swallow disappointment, sad thoughts about the upcoming winter (though it then turned sunny and kinda warm, it’s still a no for me).
– I had to test a few recipes for Christmas (last Semptember I was in a pub in London when I saw the sign “Christmas is coming, either you want it or not”. *growing anxiety*)

So I used baking as a soothing balm and, as usual, ate my feelings. All together, sugar-coated, chocolate covered, bundled up in cinnamon and ginger.
Note to me: it’s nonsense eating gluten-free and avoid alcohol, sugar and dairies for 5 days if I can’t stop munching during the weekends, you stupid truffle.

Thus, for all the reasons above-written and more, while reading Sally’s book I stumbled upon her Molasses Cookies and decided at once to give them a try.

Plase note: the link re-directs to the recipe I found on her website: I don’t think I can share the one in her book (no spoilers!). They seem similar to me, though.

These my pictures (getting better thank to my new reflex, don’t you think?ok, just a bit)

Depending on how many minutes you leave them in the oven they will come out soft and a bit chewy (oh yessss), or a bit more crispy and crunchy (still a yess). I prefer the first option but I honestly won’t say no to the second one (obviously).

It was my first time with molasses (we don’t use it much here in Italy, had to ask a friend to get me some) but won’t be the last for sure.
It combines perfectly with ginger, nutmeg and cinnamon. The sweeteness given to the cookies is different, richer I would say, but not taking over.
The consistency is perfect; I used olive oil as shortage (neither butter nor an other animal one) and it definitely enhances the after taste of molasses.

DSC_0005

Leave a Reply

