Sunburnt in Helsinki

Posted on

Sounds quite unbelievable, doesn’t it?
I spent just one day, less than 10 hours up there. Nonetheless, the day was so bright, the sky cloudless and the temperature confortably warm.. not only was I overdressed (so had to carry a jacket + jumper + scarf all day long in my bag), but also got sunburnt.

Plus, since I was visiting Esti and decided the day before to catch the ferry and take a look at Finland as well, I was clueless regarding anything to do and visit in Helsinki.

Baltici 809

Usually I’m super organized and plan everything ahead; before leaving I already have everything figured out: the day after buying the plane ticket I start booking hotels, reading the guide, checking anything on internet and so on. By the time I arrive at my destination, I can give a good piece of advise about restaurants, museums, stuff to do.
So, this was so not like me.

But don’t you like to relax a bit when on holidays and face the unexpected? I do too, that’s why I’m so organized all the time: this gives me the chance to be confident enough about important things like where to eat and where to sleep, so I have time and energy to enjoy the little things during my days off and face everything that comes on my way.

I know it may sound a contradiction, but works for me.

Helsinki, then. Kinda expensive (had to have lunch at a fast food to save a bit and still couldn’t believe the prices), this I must say.
I loved, though, the atmosphere. Let’s say it gave positive vibes and I considered for a few hours to move there. The language, though. I don’t think I could learn it, even though literally everybody speaks English.

Now that I’ve gone through all the pictures I got how much I’ve missed of the city. My bad.

The Cathedral
Baltici 731Baltici 727Baltici 726Baltici 725

The Central Station
Baltici 787.JPG

The Kaisaniemi Botanic Garden
Baltici 747Baltici 748Baltici 761

A stroll along the lake Baltici 813
Baltici 819

 

2 thoughts on “Sunburnt in Helsinki

    Sartenada said:
    April 14, 2017 at 9:20 am

    Wonderful photos. I am glad that You visited Helsinki and shot so many lovely photos in so short time. I do love them. Of course, You must understand that visiting Helsinki is not the same than visiting real Finland outside it. Finland offers many awesome experiences. For example, cruising on a lake and at the same time to admire the white night (no sunset), hiking far beyond the Arctic Circle among roaming reindeers, reindeer rides in winter, world’s biggest Snow Castle, sun bathing on the Arctic beach, walking on a frozen lake on its ice etc. My blog offers all these.

    Here are some concrete examples:

    Reindeer driving competition.

    North of the Arctic Circle 3.

    Arctic Circle in winter.

    World’s Biggest Snow Castle.

    Happy and safe travels!

    arytee responded:
    April 14, 2017 at 9:37 am

    Hi Sartenada
    thanks a lot for your comment, I really appreciate any feedback
    I can imagine that outside the city, things are different. Unfortunately I only had one day to spend in Finland and thus had to settle for a quick view of the city itself. I honestly can’t wait to come back and spend some more time (a week or even two) in your country, experiencig many different activities.
    I’ve already taken a look at your blog, I’ll read it more carefully for sure.
    Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

